Film Sack #07: “The one about Clash of The Titans”

Welcome to episode 7. Up this week? 1981’s ‘Clash of The Titans’.

Not familiar with the movie? Check it out on Netflix Streaming, and IMDB for more information.

Join me, Randy, Brian and Ibbott while we take a trip to the River Styx and bleed some jelly for the good of movie loving people everywhere.

Direct MP3 Download
iTunes Link
RSS Feed

Hey! Why not leave us a nice review on iTunes if you like the show?

Up next week? 1981’s Candy Man.

~ by Scott on December 11, 2009.

8 Responses to “Film Sack #07: “The one about Clash of The Titans””

  1. ooh I suggested this, but it’s a classic anyway. The whole Harryhausen collection is superb. Mega-looking forward to listening to this.

    Another Rocky connection too…

  2. I remember seeing this in the theater with the kids of my parents best friends (they sent us so they could party – I wonder what went on there. WAIT! No I don’t). Though I must have been incredibly bored at times, my teenage self got to see BOOBIES!

    I haven’t seen it again until today. While the blending of special effects sucked, the stop-motion work was not to bad. The story does suck you in, though.

    I would like to see Hollywood re-visit the Greek mythology pantheon again, of a style similar to “The Lord of the Rings”, though without the gay butt-sex – we don’t need to see that.

    What the crap? moments/comments:

    – The mechanical owl is this movies retard-deetard.
    – What is up with the bird shadow in the opening credits?
    – midgets!
    – how can Perseus and the snake dude stand in the swamp, yet the helmet sink away forever lost?

    OK – now on to listen to the podcast.

  3. Ooooh – I forgot to add a comment. How can you have a babe like Ursula Andress as Aphrodite and not see HER boobs??? We all know she is not afraid to show her body.

  4. The filmsack crew needs to review future sport! And have Obsidian as a guest.

  5. Great podcast guys, watching the movie yet again right now! Just another comment about the awesomeness of Harryhausen, this movie was shot right around the time that Empire Strikes Back would have been too, but you have to remember that Harryhausen had been doing this kind of work since 1949 (Might Joe Young…the original).

    If anyone hasn’t seen the movie that has his best work (he thinks so too), just get a copy of the restored DVD of Jason and the Argonauts, from 1963. This has the famous skeleton fighting scene and many others that must have been a bitch to get right. Looks stunning on DVD too.

    Can you tell I’m a fan of his?!

  6. Just one of the many great movies to come out of the 80’s! My dad took me to see this when I was about 10 years old, and I can still remember the look of embarrassment on his face when they showed a naked woman walking on the beach. We almost walked out, but I convinced him to stay… and I’m glad we did! I still will watch this movie at least once year. It just never gets old!

  7. Got a burr up my butt and decided to watch this today. I actually wanted to watch Conan the Barbarian (Currently reading The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian: The Original Adventures of the Greatest Sword and Sorcery Hero of all Time) and, unfortunately, when I fired up Netflix on my 360 it didn’t show up in the SciFi and Fantasy section. I know it is available to stream but my Macbook, while within arms reach, has a dead battery, adding movies on my blackberry is too difficult, my Windows laptop is on the other side of the room, and if I had switched my TV to the desktop PC the kayboard and mouse were not within in my lazy Sunday grasp, but I digress.

    I had not seen this from start to finish in at least 15 years, and I do not think it comes anywhere close to standing the test of time. Harryhausen’s stop motion, as always, looks phenomenal, but when you try to green screen it into the film, using late 70s early 80s technology, it does not mesh very seemlessly. You get the same problems that Lucas had with his green screen effects in Empire, namely big black lines showing where your models end and the backdrop starts. Of course, Lucas tried to compensate with transparency, I love how you can see the AT-AT through the snowspeeder as it is flying above it (something you don’t get to see anymore since Lucas redid his movies), but this is also something that Harryhausen did not do, because it would have made his effects look even less believable.

    The story aggravated me to no end as well. I guess the more you learn about Greek mythology, the more you learn how much made up Greek mythology is out there.Take 2 parts of this, add 1 part of that, and reinvent our own story of the gods.

    Some of the acting in the film…yeah. Not really the best.

    While I know I loved this as a kid, almost 30 years later, I almost couldn’t stomach it. It definitely did nothing to hold my attention.

    Oh, and I just saw 2 movies you four fine fellas need to do.

    Runaway with Tom Selleck and Gene Simmons and The Ice Pirates with Robert Urich and Ron Perlman?! Really?!?!

  8. What the heck were you guys talking about “year of the dog now”?

Leave a Reply

 
